What’s changing at the next State Election?

YOU may have heard that things are changing at the next State Election – well here’s the lowdown on what’s changing and why!

New State electoral boundaries will take effect at the Victorian State Election, which is on Saturday 26 November 2022.

What this means is that the state electorate you have previously voted in, may have changed, despite you not changing your address.

Here’s why this is happening…

The Electoral Boundaries Commission (EBC), an independent, neutral statutory body regularly conducts reviews of Victoria’s electoral boundaries and adjusts them, making sure that each electorate has approximately the same number of enrolled voters – this is called a quota. To calculate the quota, the total number of enrolled voters in Victoria is divided by the number of districts in the state, that is 88. To ensure equal representation in Parliament, the number of enrolled voters in each district and region must not vary by more than 10% (up or down) from the quota.

You may have heard this process referred to as a ‘redivision’?

By law a ‘redivision’ must take place, after every second state general election OR, if voter enrolment significantly changes from the average by 10% for more than two months OR, if the number of districts or regions changes.

The 2020-21 State electoral boundary redivision concluded in October 2021 and the final boundaries have now been released. You can view the new boundaries on the EBC’s website: www.ebc.vic.gov.au

As a result of this review, there will be some significant changes to state seats locally, effective for the Victorian State Election later this year.

The three current state seats of Burwood, Forest Hilland Mount Waverley are being abolished and will be divided into two new State Districts, namely Ashwood and Glen Waverley. Effectively the western half of the Mount Waverley district is being included in the new seat of Ashwood and the eastern half of the Mount Waverley district is being included in the new seat of Glen Waverley, with Blackburn Road being the new boundary.

Images: Victorian Electoral Commission: www.vec.vic.gov.au

The new seat of Glen Waverley will include most of the suburbs of Forest Hill and Burwood East, all of the suburbs of Vermont South and Glen Waverley and part of the suburbs of Vermont and Wheelers Hill.

The surrounding seats of Box Hill and Ringwood have undergone minor boundary changes, mainly to their southern and eastern boundaries, but have retained their current District names.

State-wide, 10 existing districts are to be abolished to make way for the creation of 10 new districts. Abolished existing districts include Altona, Burwood, Ferntree Gully, Forest Hill, Gembrook, Keysborough, Mill Park, Mount Waverley, Wendouree and Yuroke.

Proposed new districts include Ashwood, Berwick, Eureka, Glen Waverley, Greenvale, Kalkallo, Laverton, Morang, Pakenham and Point Cook.

I look forward to continuing to serve our local community.

NEIL ANGUS MP State Member for Forest Hill